top of page
Search

Travel Guide: Miami | December 2018

Updated: Jun 18, 2021

So earlier this month I went on what was supposed to be a short end of the year trip with some of my girls. Which turned into an 8-day extravaganza, in the beautiful, lively city of Miami! The flights RT are very reasonable and if you are looking to save potentially a little more, try looking at Fort Lauderdale, it isn't too far from Miami.



 

THE HOTEL


$$$


Safe to say, views were incredible and that can be found on my Instagram Story Highlights! This is more like a condo you're staying in and so it lacks some of the "normal" hotel services - such as, room service or daily cleaning, which I personally enjoy on vacation. But let me tell you, what it lacks in "normality," it excels in other aspects. Such as: Having a FULL kitchen and washer & dryer.



PLACES TO SEE & EAT


So we were in Miami to celebrate life but also for Art Basel (12/6-12/9)


So a lot of what we did see was, Art related but I cannot explain how much fun it all was. From live art battles to just the good reggae clubs! No day or night was bad! We got ourselves into some pretty sticky situations but always ended up the night laughing our butts off. Below you'll see some of the spots we went to!


- BARSECCO -

$$$

Pros:

Close to hotel

Cons:

Minimal space to dance or move

- South Beach -

$

South Beach is a ton of fun! We went there multiple times during the trip. There are so many restaurants, shops and local vendors along this beach area. Due to the time i was there, a lot of pop up Art Basel Shows as well along the beach.


Our very first day to the beach a photographer @nolasdy found us on the beach and took our picture for $5 - I love Polaroids and it really was the perfect keepsake for the trip.


South Beach restaurants had some yummy paella and empanadas! You'll find that a lot of restaurants here run specials like free drinks with entree order or something similar!


- Nikki Beach -

$


nikki beach view
Nikki beach morning time

This really was such a beautiful, I think private, beach! All located behind a luxurious beach club.


Unfortunately, I was not there to enjoy the beautiful beach club - I was there to work! As many of you know I am also a model and Jeff found my friend and I on the beach earlier in the week and asked if we wanted to shoot for his company, Tornado Blade. We genuinely thought it was a pretty cool product and agreed - we got some pretty cool content out of the experience!


A tip, if Nikki Beach is on your list of place to see when you're in Miami. Make sure you have cash on you - the lounge chairs on the beach run from $25-$50 in order to even sit on them.








- The Muses Experience -

The very last day...

Womp, Womp.

The Muses Experience

So to start, we had been going to events every single day, just about. This was easily a favorite of mine and I'll tell you why - they had an open bar. No, seriously, besides being on this uber-lux mega yacht this was the best way to rap up the trip.


We really couldn't have ended it better.


The event represented: A Celebration of the Supreme Power of Female Creativity. So with that being said, there were a lot of really inspiring people here. Including Tayana Henry, Ashley Martelle, Sarah Bahbah and more!

 

WHAT TO WEAR

So, I was beyond shocked to arrive in Miami in December and it was hotter than HELL! I didn't expect snow or anything but I figured I would be able to handle the weather! I am from the desert, I thought I was prepared. I was so WRONG!

I was sweating every day.

So, with that being said, I did end up going shopping a little while I was in Miami but here are a few of my favorite outfits and where to get them:



My favorite outfit of the week was this little red dress from a store I found walking down Collins. Collins is a street in the South Beach area, where you will find lots of shops!


We stumbled into a store called Urban-Planet. Which was having some mega bomb sale! So of course we had to check it out! If you want a snatched waist and a dress with pockets, look no further. This red dress was everything.


This red dress isn't on their website and after some research, I really could not find this dress in stock anywhere!! Lots of clothing companies are making this style of dress after being seen on Selena Gomez.


You can be notified when this dress is available again by clicking here.


**update: Urban Planet is still having some wicked good sales right now!



Overall, I would say wear something comfortable but don't be afraid to express yourself!

 

Much love, Mariah Marie

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page